Bird Nerd

Hanging in the hood. Photo by LP

Are confessions allowed on the Earth Air Waves Blog? I hope so.

My confession is that I’m a huge bird nerd. I love watching birds, especially in my neighborhood, and I really enjoy paying attention to who is passing through during migration season. (As an aside: I just saw my first Northern Flicker in a while, and the hummingbirds are still hanging around, as are the Western Kingbirds.)

This morning, I was awake before the alarm went off and heard two owls calling at about 5:30. I wasn’t coherent  enough to find and assemble my recording kit. But here’s the recording off my iPhone.

 

What birds are you hearing or seeing around your neighborhood right now?

Leave a Reply

